About the Chakras

Chakra in Sanskrit means wheel or disk, and is a metaphor for the movement of energy (kundalini) within the body.  This movement of energy is like a spinning or vibrating wheel—akin to a vortex—that corresponds to nerves, organs, and glands on a human, physical plane.  Although the chakras are invisible, their presence can be felt as physical and/or psychological symptoms of ease or dis-ease.  In this respect, we can use the chakra metaphor as an indicator of health and well-Being.  When the energy flows freely throughout the eight main chakras, then health is optimal, and according to the Kundalini Yoga tradition, the “kundalini” can rise; when the kundalini rises, we are animated, radiant, and shine with a vital joy or passion for life.  We truly live in the present moment.  The goal of Kundalini yoga, then, is to balance and open the flow of the energy through the vibration of the chakras.  The Kundalini “technology” (kriyas, meditations, mudras, pranayamas, etc.) does just that.

The Chakra system is a metaphor in another sense: It mediates the human form (flesh, bones, blood, etc.) with the formlessness of the ever present cosmic or universal energy that vibrates within and though everything.  Think of the infinite energy of the universe—always moving, flowing, transforming—vibrating as the structuring principle of all matter (even modern physics acknowledges the “nothingness” at the heart of all atoms in the sub atomic particle theory).  Now, think of the finite movement within the human body (western medicine and science use the metaphor of multiple systems—circulatory, muscular, skeletal, respiratory, endocrine, nervous, digestive, etc.).  The Chakra system (as a metaphor of the way energy moves) links the finite, human kundalini energy with the infinite energy of the universe.  Ultimately, the Chakras represent the infinite within the finite.

Each vibrating chakra (often called energy center) relates to a specific frequency of sound and light as it corresponds to both the finite and infinite.  The lower chakras (referred to as the lower triad) have a more dense energy frequency (as symbolized in the petals of a lotus flower), while the upper chakras operate at a higher frequency of light and sound.  In this creative system metaphors abound!  See the chakra chart below for specific finite correspondences.

Meditate on the following mantras and affirmations to bring balance to your chakras:

1st Root Chakra: Red Earth Energy
Sound: LAM
Affirmation: I have the right to be; I have the right to have
2nd Sex Chakra: Orange Water Energy
Sound: VAM
Affirmation: I have the right to feel
3rd Navel Chakra: Bright Yellow Firey Sun
Sound: RAM
Affirmation: I have the right to act; to step into my power
4th Heart Chakra: Sparkling Emerald Green Heart Energy
Sound: YAM
Affirmation: I have the right to love and be loved
5th Throat Chakra: Sky Blue Creative Energy
Sound: HAM
Affirmation: I have the right to speak my create truth
6th Third Eye Chakra: Indigo Wisdom Energy
Sound: OM (ONG)
Affirmation: I have the right to See; to step into my intuition
7th Crown Chakra: Rainbow Crystalline Light Energy
Sound: none
Affirmation: I AM Spirit (Wahe Guru)
8th Aura: Protective Projective Energy
Sound: none
Affirmation: I am protected and connected to the Infinite; (Sat Nam)

Chakra Chart

Location and Psycho-physical Associations

Coccyx, end of spine between the anus and sexual organs.

Organs of elimination; sacral plexus, large intestine, rectum, male reproductive organs, prostrate

Functioning: Good elimination; Grounded; Secure; Centered; Loyal; Stable.

Malfunctioning: Poor elimination; Fear; Insecurity; Not belonging anywhere; Reduced physical and mental resistance


First Lumbar; Sexual organs; Sexual Reproductive glands, Kidneys; Adrenals; Bladder

Functioning: Positive; Relaxed Sexually; Patient; Creative; Responsible; Emotional open and stable

Malfunctioning: Rigid emotions; Frigidity; Guilt; No Boundaries; Impotence; Irresponsible; Problems in reproductive organs, sexual disorders, kidney or bladder problems


8th thoracic; Area of the navel point; solar plexus; navel plexus, Liver; Gall bladder; Spleen; Digestive organs; Pancreas; Adrenals

Functioning: Self-esteem; Identity; Judgment; Inner balance; Inspired; Good Health.

Malfunctioning: Anger; Greed; Shame; Despair; No strength or spontaneity; Conforming; Refuting Self values; Problems with digestion, liver, gall bladder, and pancreas


1st Thoracic; Middle of chest on breast bone, level of nipples; Heart; Lungs; Thymus

Functioning: Compassion; Acceptance, Kindness; Forgiveness; Service; Self-Love; Sacred transformation; Spiritual awareness; Recognizing these qualities in others

Malfunctioning: Grief Attachment; Closed off; Easily hurt; Dependent on others; Fear of rejection; Heartless; “Helper” syndrome; Problems in heart, lungs or Blood Pressure

Sky Blue

3rd Cervical, Throat; Thyroid; Parathyroid; Trachea; Cervical Vertebrae

Functioning: Truthful; Good communication; Authentic; Healthy self-expression, inspiring; Teacher; Power of Word

Malfunctioning: Lethargy; Weakness in language; Shy; Voice problems; Insecurity; Fear of opinions; Lack of expression; Problems in neck, throat, voice, and thyroid.


Between the eyebrows; Brain; Pituitary gland

Functioning: Intuitive; Clairvoyant; Visual; Concentration; Determination; Self-initiation; projection; Purposeful.

Malfunctioning: Confusion; Depression; Rejection of spirituality; Over Intellectualize


Crown of head (pron. “Shashra”) Brain; Pineal gland; Hypothalamus

Functioning: Enlightenment; Unity; Elevation; Self-Realization; Connection to Higher Consciousness

Malfunctioning: Grief; Separateness; Fear of Death


Electromagnetic field

Functioning: Projection of Self; Protection of Self

Malfunctioning: Shy; Withdrawn; Unprotected; No Projection; Vulnerable

TCY Info

Teacher Training


Yoga/Wellness Sites

Chakras, design © 1997 Wholistic Creations

chakras © 1997 Wholistic Creations